top of page

End of an Old Year, Beginning of A New One


My Christmas, and every day since, has been a dream. An absolute dream. Like I keep waiting to wake up. But every time I do, it's yet another day of the same dream. And going back to school might just kill me. It very well might. Because my people? They're the best people. And there is nothing I've loved more about being home than spending time with my people.

And yet I am so fortunate to be going back to some people who are well on their way to becoming my people. In fact, many of them already have. I am going back to more of my people.

As 2016 came to an end, my heart was awfully apprehensive. I didn't want to leave behind anything that happened in twenty sixteen. I wanted everything to just stay put, if only for a little while longer. But I soon realized that twenty seventeen was coming in full force. It wasn't slowing down for no one.

Praise God. Adios 2016. Because who was I to think that I had to leave things behind? Why didn't I realize that I got to carry some of it over. And best of all, I got to carry over only what I wanted to. And I got to leave the rest in the dust. Of course, 2016 changed me. Shaped me. Wrecked me. Blessed me. But it didn't define me.

I knew it would be a year that I looked back on with a hopeful heart. I just didn't realize that I would look back on it now with such a hopeful heart.

By the end of 2017, I want to be a different person. A better person. A braver person. And everyone says that. But I mean it.. And I am only so sure because I want to be a different person for myself but more than that I want to be a different person for my people. I want to be the person I was created to be.

This past month, these past couple of weeks in particular, have felt different. More intentional. More joyous. More everything. And I've loved them.

So, here's to a new year! A bright, beautiful, brave, Christ-centered, and hopeful year. A real hopeful one.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page