top of page

Time Management (whatever THAT means!!)

If I'd made any resolutions, "better time management" would have been the first!! It's not that I don't manage my time well. It's that I manage it so meticulously, it's becoming an issue. And by managing it the way I do, I miss out on things I think I'd like to be participating in and my day planner always looks daunting. Real. Daunting.

This blog post will not help you manage your time in any way whatsoever. You may cringe at my time management skills (or lack there of and/or overuse of). You may feel as though reading this post in its entirety is a waste of your time.

I find myself spending an awful lot of time in my chair at my desk reading my textbooks (in my own little corner, in my own little chair, I can be whatever I want to be... if you got that reference, we'll be kindred spirits forever and always). Reading and studying and underlining my textbooks. Hard. And yes, that is part of the territory that comes with being a UNIVERSITY STUDENT. I know that better than anyone. But sometimes I push my limits. I spend too much time in my chair. At my desk. Studying. And I miss out. The FOMO (fear of missing out)? It's real. I have FOMO about FOMO. It's an issue. I'm dealing with it. It'll just take a little time.

I got a care package in the mail this week and in the card my mum wrote: "don't be too busy to have FUN!" And I thought to myself: "how do mum's know EVERYTHING?!" They just do. They know everything. I've kept myself a little too busy for fun the past couple of weeks, but more importantly, I've kept myself a little too busy for me. And so my number one priority is going to be more "me time." And then more "people time."

It's not that school isn't a priority for me, because it is! Also, I'm paying an awful lot for it not to be a priority! But I'd also like to look back on my University years and remember all of the fun things I did as opposed to how many time I underlined the word "psychology."

This week, I decided to have more "me time" and more "people time."

This week, my time was well-spent on the phone with one of my people. One of my dearest people. My person. It was an hour and a half of Mikayla's heart nearly bursting at the seams because she wasn't worried about anything other than what her person on her phone was saying to her.

This week, my time was well-spent listening to Kari Jobe's newest song, "The Garden." iTunes tells me that I have played it 247 times. In 2 1/2 days. But I'm telling you, it was time VERY well-spent.

This week, my time was all-spent pinning all of the things on Pinterest. And wishing I owned/wore/said/was capable of crafting or cooking every single pin I pinned. Time mostly well-spent.

This week, my time was well-spent having real conversations with people. I had two brutally beautiful conversations this week. Time really well-spent.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page